AFDSNY Elects 2021 Officers During Annual Meeting and Expo at Turning Stone

During the May 7th 2021 Annual Meeting of the Association of Fire Districts of the State of New York, held at the Turning Stone Resort Casio Conference Center, 5218 Patrick Rd, Verona, NY; the Association membership re-elected the current executive officers for 2021 during the morning business meeting and a new 2nd VP at a contested election held at 4:00 p.m. as stipulated in the Association by-laws between Joseph Badala, Commissioner, West Islip Fire District and Thomas Rinaldi, Commissioner, Stillwater Fire District.  Joseph Badala was elected 2nd Vice President receiving 77 votes  with Thomas Rinaldi receiving 59.

The Secretary / Treasurer is an elected 3 yr. position whose term is not up for election until next year.

The Regional Board Directors representing the odd numbered regions were sworn into office during the morning business meeting along with the even numbered regional directors carried over from last year’s Covid-19 canceled event.

President Preston was sworn in Friday evening by Assemblymen Josh Jensen of NYS Assembly District 134   
His district includes a portion of Monroe County, specifically the towns of Greece (where Ken resides), Ogden, and Parma and the villages of Hilton and Spencerport.

First Vice President Donald J. Corkery and Second Vice President Joseph Badala were sworn in by Assemblymen Joe DeStefano, NYS Assembly District 3. His district includes the communities of Bellport, Brookhaven, East Patchogue, Coram, Farmingville, Gordon Heights, Mastic/Shirley, Medford, Middle Island, and Ridge. Joe is also a Commissioner and past AFDSNY Secretary / Treasurer.

Congratulations to our newly elected 2021 Officers and Regional Directors:

President:  Kenneth Preston
First Vice President:  Donald J. Corkery
Second Vice President:  Joseph Badala
Immediate Past President:  Fredrick Senti, Jr.
Association Secretary / Treasurer:  Joyce Petkus: